Advisory Councils

Academic Advisory Council



Denice Blair MSU Museum Director of Education
Rebecca Campbell Professor of Psychology
Glenn Chambers Director, African and African American Studies, and Associate Professor, Department of History
Julian Chambliss Professor of English
Margaret Crocco Chair, Department of Teacher Education
Center for Gender in Global Context
Phil Duxbury Chair, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Professor, Condensed Matter Theory
Biomedical Physical Science Building
Thomas Getty Chair, Department of Integrative Biology
Eric Goodman Director of BEACON
Jeff Grabill Associate Provost: Teaching, Learning & Technology
Walter Hawthorne Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, College of Social Science
Professor of History
Pilar S. Horner Associate Professor, School of Social Work
James Linnemann Professor of High Energy Physics
Barbara Lundrigan Curator of Mammalogy, MSU Museum
Ruben Martinez Director, Julian Samora Research Institute, and
Department of Sociology
Beronda Montgomery MSU Foundation Professor Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Jodie O’Gorman Chair, Anthropology
Dean Rehberger Director, MATRIX; Interim Chair, Department of Sociology
Allyn Shaw  Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs & Services
Shannon Schmoll Director, Abrams Planetarium

(ex officio)

Judith Stoddart Associate Provost for University Collections and Arts Initiatives
Doug Gage Assistant Vice President, Research and Graduate Studies

Community Advisory Council



Bill Trevarthen (Chairperson)
Bruce Ashley Public Affairs Associates
One Michigan Avenue Building
Yvonne Caamal Canul Superintendent
Lansing School District
Dominic Carbone Owner, Business for Kids
Owner, DMC Services, Inc.
Owner, Hungry Howies Pizza (Lansing)
Deidre J. Davis Vice President of Marketing & Communications
Michigan State University Federal Credit Union
Patrick Dean Dean Transportation
Silvia Dimma Michigan State University Federal Credit Union
Paul Elam Jr., Ph.D. President, Public Policy Associates, Inc.
Gregory Farhat Director of Workplace Strategy and Delivery
Jackson National Life, The ZONE
Owner: Knight Cap Restaurant,
Owner: Absolute Labor,
Owner: Masada Enterprizes
Heather Good Executive Director
Michigan Audubon
Edythe Hatter-Williams Director
Capital Area Michigan Works
Pamela Heos Director of Alumni and Donor Relations
Western Michigan University-Thomas M. Cooley Law School
Charles Hillary Senior Vice President
Hillary Lyons Associates
Nadean Hillary
Joan Jackson Johnson Director, Human Relations and Community Services
Karen Jennings Member of the East Lansing Arts Commission; President of the Board of Directors for Peppermint Creek Theatre Company
Jason Mellema Superintendent
Ingham Intermediate School District
George Lahanas East Lansing City Manager
Michelle Massey Vice President, Business & Operations
J. Keith Ostien, Ph.D. Founder and Director
Comprehensive Psychological Services
Kate Snyder Principal Strategist
PIPER & GOLD Public Relations
Anshu Varma CPA, State of Michigan; Owner, Henna by Design
Valerie von Frank Community Advocate
All Rights Reserved