Skip to Content


The MSU Museum depends on our great volunteers to share the wonders of the University's science and culture museum with the public. Many different kinds of opportunities are available. If you would like to join the scores of volunteers who have contributed their time and talents to the MSU Museum, we encourage you to contact us today for more information or fill out the Volunteer Sign-Up Form!

Upcoming Opportunity

Love museums and learning about the world we live in? Want to share your knowledge with others? New Docent Training is starting November 7, 2016. Docents greet museum visitors, provide information, and give tours. No experience is necessary; we provide all the training. Please email or call 517-432-1472 to sign up.

Volunteer 5000-Hour Honor Roll

Each year since 1983, the MSU Museum has been tracking the number of hours of service provided by volunteers. The following individuals are among an elite group who have clocked over 5000 hours of service and some of them have donated even far more. Our hats are off to them!

Phyllis Amsterburg
Eve Boicourt
Tom Chaput
Joseph Cox
Fred Dimmitt
Doug Dunham
Esther Dunham
Jane Goodrich
Gary Granger
Katherine Kerr
Betty MacDowell
Andy McClary
Jane McClary
Virginia Newman
Kim Ramm
Eunice Schloemer
Liz Schweitzer
Neil Snepp
Betty Votruba

Volunteer Awardees

Each year since 1997, the MSU Museum honors those who have made extraordinary voluntary contributions to museum programs and operations. A salute to the following honorees!

1997: Katie Kerr, Jane McClary
1998: Eve Boicourt, Betty MacDowell, Tom Chaput
1999: Jane Goodrich
2000: Liz Schweitzer
2002: Bill Rustem
2003: Malinda Barr
2004: Max Hoffman
2005: Mary C. Mertz-Smith
2006: Curt Munson, Jason & Dawn Keech, Tom Seymour
2007: William Prince
2009 Jeff Benson

Jeff Benson

Click me to sign up

Museum Council

The MSU Museum has a Museum Council from campus and the community that provides support, advocacy and development through promoting MSU Museum events; encouraging community involvement, membership and volunteerism; identifying and generating sponsorships and contributions; and serving as an advisory group to the museum director. 
2014-2015 members include: 
Bruce Ashley
Joyce Banish
Kathy Bossen
Trace Camacho
Silvia Dimma
Jessica Dowdal
Joe Foster
Pamela Gray
Gordon Guyer
Beck Helgeson
Jeannie Koerber
Jim Lawton
Oumatie Marajh
Denise Maybank
Nicole Mueller
Barbara Schram, Vice President 
Allyn Shaw, President 
Venice Smith
Bill Somerville
Al Stewart
Bill Trevarthen